miami university

Winner of the 2016 Novella Prize!

That Night Alive

by Tara Deal

Part futuristic fiction and part meditative memoir, That Night Alive begins on the narrator's death date and moves backward in time to tell her story. She traces her path as a successful crypto-reporter, navigating a life of secrecy and solitude and world travel. A counter-narrative intersects, told by the same woman as a young artist struggling to create a work of beauty. That Night Alive investigates art and failure, persistence and success.

Thanks to the 150+ writers who submitted manuscripts; to our incredible final judge, Margaret Luongo; to our undergraduate editorial intern, Eric Rubeo; and to all the Creative Writing graduate students and faculty members who assisted with the process!

The Miami University Novella Prize is awarded annually to a novella-length manuscript of original fiction (18,000–40,000 words). The winner receives $750, a standard contract, publication and 10 copies of the book.

Miami University Press adheres to the Council of Literary Magazines & Presses (CLMP) Contest Code of Ethics:
CLMP's community of independent literary publishers believes that ethical contests serve our shared goal: to connect writers and readers by publishing exceptional writing. We believe that intent to act ethically, clarity of guidelines, and transparency of process form the foundation of an ethical contest. To that end, we agree to 1) conduct our contests as ethically as possible and to address any unethical behavior on the part of our readers, judges, or editors; 2) to provide clear and specific contest guidelines—defining conflict of interest for all parties involved; and 3) to make the mechanics of our selection process available to the public. This Code recognizes that different contest models produce different results, but that each model can be run ethically. We have adopted this Code to reinforce our integrity and dedication as a publishing community and to ensure that our contests contribute to a vibrant literary heritage.


Winner of the 2015 Novella Prize

Miami University Press is delighted to announce the winner of its 2015 novella prize:


by Lawrence Coates

In the California heartland in 1932, at a migrant labor camp whose very name means forgotten, a child’s sudden illness leads to tensions between workers wishing to break camp and the land barons enforcing their contracts. Into this dispute Esteban Alas—contrabandista and self-styled businessman—is reluctantly drawn as a mediator, until an act of violence forces him into a more tragic role.

Camp Olvido
was chosen by the contest's judge Joseph Bates from among 84 manuscripts submitted this year. Two manuscripts were named as runners-up:

The Slush Pile by William Nixon
Desirée Women by Marlene Miller

All those who submitted manuscripts will receive a copy of the book when it is published.

Previous winners and finalists:

2014 winner

Read more about this title...

Runners up

2011 winner

Read more about this title…

Runners up

2010 winner

Read more about this title…

2009 winners

The 2009 contest resulted in a tie—so we broke with tradition and awarded two authors the prize.

2008 winner

Read more about this title…

2007 winner

Read more about this title…

2006 winner

Read more about this title…

2005 winner

Read more about this title…